poniedziałek, 6 października 2014



BR R006

1. I Am What I Am
2. A Rose Is A Rose
3. What's In The Name I
4. Elohim
5. What's In The Name II
6. " "

Composed by Joanna Halszka Sokołowska

Libretto by Michał Libera

All instruments performed by Joanna Halszka Sokołowska


Piano by Jerzy Rogiewicz

Leading voices by Joanna Halszka Sokołowska
Additional voices by Joanna Piwowar-Antosiewicz, Marta Piwowar, Marta Grofik-Pechel, Grzegorz Uzdański, Grażyna Soczewka
Speaking voices by James Brennan and Michał Libera

Released by Bôłt Records
Distributed by Monotype Rec. and Bęc Zmiana
The starting point was John Barton Wolgamot's poem „In Sara Mencken, Christ and Beethoven there were men and women”. The starting point was Robert Ashley's composition „In Sara Mencken, Christ and Beethoven there were men and women”. The starting point was bringing thousands of people together. Everyone equal, nobody playing secondary role; all organized into sections, every section being a variant of another. The difference is in names, like in the airport, or art world, or facebook, or disco, or Bible. What brings these people together? What is the new entity they form? What is there between Sara Powell Hardt and Claud Henri de Saint-Simon? Luigi Pirandello and Jane Austen?

We take Wolgamot as a soothsayer of facebook, disco and mass – environments of the descension of God. There is Gertruda Stein waiting for him, trusting that everything can be found in names. There is Ludwig van Beethoven completing his “most successful piece”. There is Rainer Maria Rilke translating his “Notes on the Melody of Things”. There is a choir laying on the floor – bringing God down. And they are all informed by numerological methods, scientific statistics and cabalistic interpretation of the Tree of Life. And they are all framed by a disco ball.

Brak komentarzy: